Tread Lightly

Today I reached out to a friend that I purposefully have pulled away from.  Why?  Well, honestly, I miss her. My friend started dating a new guy (2.5 years ago) who is a functioning alcoholic, and is now her fiancé.  Needless to say, things changed between us.

Early on in their relationship I mentioned that I was worried for her.  She was partying throughout the week, missing work, and drinking while driving (which is a big NO for me).  I come from a family with a parent that is a recovering alcoholic (20 years) and I have first hand experience of what that can look like.  After I voiced my concern she didn’t talk to me for weeks-yes, it didn’t go over well.

Here is this person who I have cherished as a friend for so long and I am watching her change in a way that is destructive.  Now two and a half years in to the relationship they are engaged, own a house together, and she helps with his two kids.  I am happy for her if she is happy, which she seems to be.

About a year ago I started to pull away from her (* Adult Decisions as my father would call them).  There were a few crazy drunk nights she shared with me:  one involving the kids, one involving someone being arrested, and all involving driving.  After each of these calls, or texts asking me to join them out, I would begin to stress and fret for her and about her wellbeing (and the others on the road).  That’s when I decided this was not a healthy relationship for me to be a part of and I needed some space.

Here I am a year later.  Throughout this time we have exchanged messages and emails and occasional breakfast meetings or gatherings.  It has been 3 months since I have physically seen her.  Am I ready to see her?  Am I ready to start this up again?  I don’t know.  I am willing to see where she is at and how she is doing.  I am also willing to see if anything has changed: for better or worse.

If anyone has been in this scenario and has advice it is much appreciated.  This is unchartered waters for me and I am willing to tread ever so lightly in hope that maybe this friendship can be rekindled.

2 thoughts on “Tread Lightly

  1. What a difficult and painful place you find yourself. My heart goes out to you. I lost my best friend of 37 years, 3 years ago. It was a sudden and unexpected, but not expected turn of events. She was a functional (somewhat) addict to prescription drugs. Eventually, the toxic level in her system reached a tipping point and approximately a hour and half after I spoke with her, she died from an overdose. I hope your friend is in a better place of mind and has done what she needs to have done to save herself, because the one thing I learned over the years, as hard as I tried, and I did. I could not save my friend.

    I wish you my sincerest blessings and prayers.

    Like

    1. Oh Sheila, I’m so sorry to hear that about your friend. I’m sure that was so difficult for you and her family. I appreciate you commenting. I truly feel like it is unchartered waters: trying to do what I can to help her and yet preserve what I can of my own well-being. I actually made plans with her for later in the week for a non-drinking meet up. I am hoping that in this environment I will be able to talk and enjoy her company, as well as see where she is at. I’m not sure I am 100% ready to jump back into a friendship with her and I know that things have changed and will be different. I am open to seeing how a new relationship with her could look and maybe they could revolve around sober activities.
      Thank you again for sharing your experiences and kind words.

      Like

Leave a Reply

